Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm a self-diagnosed social phobic. This condition is new to me, though I've always been "shy" in certain situations. I'm a freshman at a competitive, discussion-oriented liberal arts college, and the particular character of this school, although extremely beneficial to me in some respects, seems to have come together with certain aspects of my personality, brain chemistry, and behavior routine (undiagnosed ADHD & OCD, perfectionism, inferiority complex) in such a way as to just totally **** me up. I'm to the point where I can't even communicate normally with my roommate, who I generally like and respect. I'm only able/motivated to post here because I've had about eight cups of tea. So that's my introduction.

Anyway, if I don't kill myself, fail out of school, or die of starvation in the meantime, I plan to transfer to a ****ty state school so I can major in math and hopefully find an interesting career in some kind of science. Despite these plans, though, I guess I still have ambitions to become a fiction writer. When I was young, I would read constantly, though it was essentially a form of escape, and the books that I tended to read were accordingly escapist in nature. So, naturally, when I discovered video games and then the internet later, I transferred all of my attention to these, because of the easier gratification, and stopped reading books entirely (some depression may have played a part, I don't know, thought that seems like a poor excuse).