Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am totally sick of worrying about stuff and thinking of everything so negatively but I just feel like i cant think positive. Every time i go to work if something goes wrong like i say something stupid or mess up i feel so negative afterwards. I really hate going to work because i always worry what people think of me and i try my best to not look like a total idiot. I am a very shy person and i havnt been in this voluntary job very long about a week thus far and some stuff i have never done before ( am working with people with learning disabilities). Am doing this voluntary work to be ready for uni and give me some confidence 2. Could anyone tell me how i could get rid of negative thoughts and worries cos it just totally takes over my life.

thanks bessymate4eva xx :)

·
Registered
21 Posts
I find the only thing that works for me is to just try and keep busy. I hate Fridays because I know ive got to work on Saturday. But if I just keep busy I find myself not thinking and worrying about it so much. I dont know if theres a way to completly rid yourself of negative thoughts and worries tho.

·
Banned
40 Posts
first off all the only alternative to negative thoughts are not positive thinking.
because it is hard to do a 180 from negative to positive, this doesnt work out instantly.
so what you might wanna do is first trying to abolish the negative thoughts.

as you recognizing you are thinking negative thoughts, say this chatterbox (the part of you that starts always with this negativity) to shut up. make it stop.
you certainly have the control over your thoughts and therefore it lys in your hand to stop it.
when you had a break for a while what you can try is to set easy positive thoughts. not extreme ones but little things that you like about yourself.

·
Registered
516 Posts