Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What do you all do for work to earn income?

I find it really hard to keep a job and when I do get one I always feel under extreme pressure and scrutiny from even the most basic of jobs.

Because of this I have stopped looking, I can't work around people and because of this have been unsuccesfully wasting more time by trying to find "work from home" jobs.

At the minute I rely on my parents and student loans for my income and I know I can't continue with this.

·
Registered
1,049 Posts
I'm an apprentice chef. I focus on my work to distract me from social anxiety. I know the people well enough now to be fairly comfortable around them.

Work from home jobs are usually hard to come by. I suggest you keep applying for different kinds of jobs until you find one you like.

·
Banned
506 Posts
Hi

I usually work as a typist, receptionist, clerk etc. I don't want to, but I can't exactly do anything rewarding because of my phobias.

I need to work if possible, I live alone and have bills to pay, but when I do I find myself using really stoopid methods to stop myself panicking, like hiding in the toilets and burning myself with a lighter. It's kind of an occupational hazard for me. I'm on the social now, and actually kind of glad (even though I'm bored stiff sat doing nothing).

I hope you can find a job. Maybe try volunteering a day or so a week with something easy to get used to the workplace again. Not as much pressure or expectation as they're not paying you, companies love volunteers and go pretty easy on them. It's a good way to work on the problem, at least that's what I found. I did volunteering and later a temp job for my local mental hospital - it was great because they were a very sympathetic employer.