Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm 18 and I want to get a job, I just don't wanna do anything food oriented because I noticed that in that kind of business your always either cleaning or dealing with a customer and for a cooking job it's much more competitive and I don't wanna work under stress.
I'm nervous about working at a home improvement store too, my options are LOWES and Home Depot, I have a lot of experience with tools and I've done some sheet rocking myself and spackle and I've been to many construction projects and worked a lot at my uncle's contracting company. I have some experience and knowledge about the construction field and if it wasn't for college this is the field I would be in right now. I like moving around constantly and being busy because it keeps my mind off my anxiety.
I would like to work at home depot but I'm afraid they stick me at register if I even get the job. I hate the idea of having to say hi how are you to everyone then scanning everything and hitting buttons over and over then handing back exact change, I've never done it before but I would have to learn in front of customers who are in a rush, its a lot of pressure to me.
Is there a possibility they would put me somewhere else besides register? I don't mind stocking shelves but I'm not muscular at all, I'm just thin so I don't think they would want a thin guy stocking shelves and I don't have a degree.
Has anyone ever worked at either of these stores? And was it easier than working at a grocery store?