Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
figure this out
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. Need some advice.

I work in sales and there are certain times of the year that are very stressful and face paced... This isnt that time of year.

Basically what happens this time of year is everyone sits around all day at their desks talking **** and busting each others chops all day long. I dont join in but it occasionally gets thrown my way. I dont take **** well at all, even if its meant to be in fun sometimes it ruins my day. I dont show it though. How do I become thicker skinned?

Oh and as a side note, making sales and small talking customers or sellers over the phone makes me feel rigid as steel and makes me want to vomit at times, but I enjoy it anyways. But I feel like a major buzz kill over the phone.

But anyways how do I get a thicker skin? Ive always been way too nice, and trashing people has never been my thing.

Thanks

·
serious
340 Posts
The best way I have found is to adopt a role, be someone who fits the situation, just react the way that supposed person would, like an actor in a movie.

Otherwise, put yourself in their shoes, if you can see what makes them tick, because they are insecure, or have problems at home etc, it gives you understanding and power, if u know why they say it, you can understand its not as abrasive or offensive a lot of the time, you end up feeling sorry for them, you are on their side, you help them out.
This throws them off, often you end up with a new friend.

·
figure this out
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So you are saying chop bust these guys right back? I suppose I could do that, but there have been times when I have hurt peoples feelings on accident and it makes me feel terrible for them, I dont like hurting people.

Any advice on how to become more relaxed on the phone? Maybe chat people up a little more?

·
Registered
16 Posts