Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
479 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am about to start at a university in the fall, going for Information Systems/Technology. My question what is the best computer job for people with SA? Who all on here works with computers? I need some insight into this field

·
Registered
8,134 Posts
Computers are a pretty big field. There is web design, robotics, game design/physics, mainframes/parallel/supercomputers, C++ Windows programming, Mac programming, Java programming, AI, Office productivity, Visual Basic/Excel, and a whole lot of others.

Then again, I got a degree in computer engineering, but my job was not something I ever imagined doing or really needing a lot of computer guys for. Half the time, I don't even use a computer.

·
Registered
1,181 Posts
I wanted to, but it seems almost every young male that is an outcast or has some problem seems to be doing it or wanting to be doing it which turned me off.

Personally I was also put off by constant reminders on forums that the education itself was worthless, and that getting certifications and degrees are usually a joke and real knowledge would have to be learned on your own. And you generally have to work your way up for experience, which means going from whatever cheap high school/college job you had to another cheap computer job you pulled off with your educational experience( no matter how high) until you worked you way up to decent pay. I don't know how true it is, but that's the generally attitude I got when researching the IT field. Its seems that everyone was told computers were the way to a nice career, and everyone followed it, and now there are too many out there and you wouldn't stand a chance unless you could prove yourself being above the average who know nothing other that what they learned on tests and such.