Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright so I'm a total noob at s/a meds, at times like In the bus I can't stop thinking about people looking at me and I need something to stare at without looking at someone, I just need something to cool me down and make me not worry about anything that can embarrass me or make me look stupid

· Memorial Profile
38,514 Posts
If you go to any doc for SA you're going to get some SSRI, so at this point that question is moot. It doesn't matter at this point what med works best or which one you want -- you're getting an SSRI.

Either you go to a doc and get some SSRI, which is standard procedure. Or you don't go and get nothing. Or you stop at the store and pick up some booze to calm you down.

· Registered
2,404 Posts
SSRI > SNRI > Pregabalin > Klonopin > MAOI > Stimulant (+ Benzo). There are some options, but it all starts with an SSRI or SNRI.

· Memorial Profile
38,514 Posts
^Medline mentions stimulants as a possible option. I fully agree with him that they can be effective in making one more social and should be used in the SA treatment of some patients, but does anyone here know of anybody who was prescribed an amphetamine for SA?

Sure they get them for ADD and in very rare cases depression that fails to respond to conventional treatment, but I've never once heard of any doc prescribe amphetamines for SA. If somebody is getting them specifically for SA or know of any case in which this has happened I'd be most interested in hearing about it.

· Registered
2,404 Posts
I know it's very hard to get them without ADHD, but as we possibly agree in combination with eg. Klonopin they can make introverted persons act extroverted. In the UK you won't even get the Klonopin and many doctors feel uncomfortable prescribing MAOIs. It's just the schedule it should be IMHO.

· Registered
2,661 Posts
In no particular order:

• Several cans of beer
  • Benzos
  • GHB/GBL