Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got laid off in May and i am on unemployment until the middle of December. I want to get another job, but all jobs want good communication skills, etc. I am not good at communication skills because I get too much anxiety talking to people, let alone going on a job interview! I am curious as to what job/career paths you guys have right now if you have social anxiety?

I have been thinking about every kind of job out there, but for some reason I try to avoid the ones that deal with people. I am going to school and will get my BBA degree in May 2006 but I'm not sure what I will do with it when I get it!?! I've been thinking of truck driving as a last resort because I don't have to deal with too many people and the pay is decent; but I really don't know if I'd like being on the road.

Anybody in this position like me? Or similar?

I appreciate any help you can give me, thanks in advance!

·
Registered
229 Posts
I work for UPS and it sux. But thats what Im gonna be eventually- a truck driver. I think I might get my CDL liscense next year. Im might still go to school for programming but that will require communication. I just don't have the will power. But if I pass my CDL test i'll be happy with that.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What do you do for UPS? I have been going to school for what it seems like forever because I do not know what I want to go for. It's a sad story! But since I only have this and next semester left I will finish it even though my heart is not really in it.

I will then see what my options are, and hopefully my anxiety will go down because it's gotten worse after all these years because I don't know what I want my career to be!

I have been thinking in the back of my mind about getting a CDL but I will see how this college degree and anxiety shakes out when I graduate.

thanks for the response

·
Registered
3,150 Posts