Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
To make a long story semi-short: I was hired at McDonald's a number of weeks ago but I quit after the first day. My anxiety had a lot to do with it but the staff was also very unprofessional and gave me zero training before sending me out on the register alone.. I had no clue what I was doing and customers were being rude, which was hard to handle because I'm a pretty sensitive person. If I had known that I wouldn't be receiving any training I wouldn't have applied. I shouldn't have considered fast food as an option because it doesn't even appeal to me in the first place but I was desperate for a job and my friend was nice enough to help me get hired. Although it may not sound that bad to some, it was a horrible experience for me and it has made me even more nervous about getting another job. I am in my second semester of college, I have zero work experience and I will only be able to work part-time.
I'm in need of some advice and I have no idea as to where to apply to next.. Where would you recommend? What is the "best" place for a college student with social anxiety to work at?

Thank you and I hope your responses to my post can help other people too. :b (And sorry if this post is in the wrong section! I am brand new to this website.)

·
Banned
16,644 Posts
Pricing coordinator at a retail store. It's a relatively low stress management position and it opens doors to many other positions since you have to have a general knowledge of everyone else's job.

I also highly recommend not quitting a job because you're anxious. Challenge your anxiety as much as you possibly can. The skills you will learn while working a job that involves having to deal with people in tense situations will become extremely valuable to you in the long run.

·
Gone, Never Coming Back
4,863 Posts