Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Banned
375 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I was a freshman I took a psychology class and we learned about different psychology “disorders”, and one of them seemed to be very similar to how I felt. But, I never understood how they were disorders, and it doesn’t seem like they have treatments for them either.

I still don’t see what makes them disorders... I have a personality... is it a malady? Sure my personality sucks... but is it a symptom of a biological malfunction? What do you think... are personality disorders just general schema that psychologists use to describe those with poor personalities?

·
Banned
375 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
A personality becomes a disorder when it severely impacts the quality of life of the person who has it or of the people they come into contact with. If it does not have a significant deleterious effect, it is not considered a disorder. Personality disorders were not invented merely to stigmatize people with unusual quirks, but whether or not your behaviors are adaptive obviously depends on the culture that you find yourself in.

I have a sister who was diagnosed with Antisocial Personality Disorder because her behavior was harmful and disruptive (eg. the police often had to become involved, or the fire department, hospitals, social workers, etc.). They didn't just label her APD because she was difficult to be around. People do often use the labels as insults, however (eg. the way some people call everyone they don't like a narcissist).