Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I absolutely have to get a full time job...SOON. I no longer have medical insurance and don't have any of my meds left, and don't have any money to pay for them out of pocket. I have never worked before, and I know starting a full time job right off the bat is too big a step, but I don't really have any choice. I've been thinking about all this for a while, and I was just wondering if there are specific kinds of jobs that suit people with Social Anxiety. Jobs that are plentiful, pay well, and won't take me completely out of my comfort zone. I know many of you work, so what do you do? I've looked online and haven't really found anything. I've called a few temp agencies and asked about it, but they didn't know either. So I figured I'd go as close to the source as I could and ask those of you who work and are actually able to do it.

·
Registered
220 Posts
I can't really think of any jobs that are good for people with SA. The only thing that comes to mind would be construction or farming or something like that...heh.

What about working at a library? I'm sure it doesn't pay very well, but it would be a comfotable working environment for someone with SAD. You wouldn't have to worry too much about making conversation and being social.

I work at a grocery store and I'm constantly surrounded by people. It can be difficult at times, but I do my best to cope.

Good luck!

·
Registered
845 Posts
'What about working at a library? I'm sure it doesn't pay very well, but it would be a comfotable working environment for someone with SAD. You wouldn't have to worry too much about making conversation and being social.'

I work in a library. I dont interact too much with the customers if i can help it but we sometimes have to go to schools(or the school children come to us)and read books to them :afr

·
Registered
76 Posts