Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,475 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally managed to overcome one of my biggest fears - having my hair cut at the barbers :D

I've not had a proper haircut for twenty years (since I was 11). My mum always cut it when I was younger, and as I got older I always shaved it myself. I've always been self-conscious about not having a proper haircut, but have never been able to build up the courage to get it done properly before now.

I was quite anxious, but it wasn't anywhere near as bad as I thought it would be. I went early when there wasn't many people in, but I was shaking like a leaf while waiting for my turn. The worst part was when the barber asked what I wanted, I didn't know what to ask for, so mumbled something about shorter on sides and back, a bit longer on top. He seemed fine though, and helped me out. I think it looks alright now, but i'm a bit worried that it might look silly (i'm not very good at deciding what looks good and what doesn't) and that people will laugh at me.

Apart from that it was fine. The barbers there don't engage in small talk, they just get on with cutting your hair, and when it came to paying I was worried about whether to give a tip as people i've spoken to here say that none of them give tips anymore, so I wasn't sure what to do in case I got it wrong. I think I did right by not tipping as the barber had more or less given me the change before I could finish handing over the money. I then quickly said my goodbyes and left.

I'm still quite nervous about going to the barbers, but now i've done it once, it shouldn't be as difficult next time.