Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have always dug under my nails with my other nails, traced patterns in my skin, spelled things backwards and correctly in my head and traced x's inside of boxes, among many other things...I do this frequently but especially when I am really nervous around people, when I was a kid the doctor thought I had fungus growing under my nails because I dug my nails raw so often. Does anyone else do things like these?

·
Registered
1,676 Posts
Spelling things backward in your head sounds like a mental tic to me. Digging inside your nails and tracing x's inside of boxes could be either tics or OCD (I'm not really sure which).

I have some annoying motor tics like blinking and grimacing and scrunching my nose and tensing my muscles. I do these things all day long, many times a minute. It's just a part of me. It's a little annoying but whatever.

·
Explode or Implode
83 Posts
You have some pretty complex tics, I sort of envy you for having ones that really work your brain like "spelling words backwards." My tic is like Kev's, I tend to grimace a little when I'm nervous, like Tweek from south park. It's coincidentally gotten better since I've stopped ingesting caffeine. :)

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I used to do that quite often. I've also noticed that when I'm alone for long periods of time, I chew or suck on my lips, or flex my fingers a lot which makes my hands and mouth very sore. I feel like I do this to make up for not doing what I would usually be doing when socializing with people.

·
Registered
813 Posts
Now I'm a bit confused if I have OCD, a tic or both. :S

·
Registered
2,470 Posts
I rub/scratch the skin around the edge of my fingernail, but I'm not sure if it's a tic.