Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, will try to keep it real short and sweet for you guys..
I had my share of hard times as a child and I grew up trying to fill all these voids in my life. Got involved with the wrong crowd in high school and it really took a toll on my life ( got arrested, drugs, violence, etc.) As I started to grow up, I found a group of friends that still were into it but not as bad as the other dopers my older friends grew to be. I graduated high school, still enrolled in a community college and I guess I found myself thinking real hard about my future.. basically found myself awakened to all the responsibilities I had tried to escape through wasting time, drugs and such.. A whole chunk of my high school - college life has been revolving around dealing, drugs and going to music festivals.. By the time I had started to realize this I was 20 years old so I still try to convince myself that I can still make up for all the school work I had lacked in and all the essential skills I need to be successful in the eyes of society but more importantly, myself. I basically changed up the yardstick I had used my whole life to measure entities with ( friendships, relationships, family, etc.) Over the course of year, ( starting end of 2012) I started looking at the values of my friendships very differently.. I started developing anxiety whenever smoking, taking hallucinogens.. I couldn't do it anymore. I developed a bad habit from heroin, took me a while to get that monkey off my back too. During this whole time, my best friend stood by me ( friends for 6 years) but as you all know, even the strongest of bonds can wear and tear through time and space. I lost contact with most of the group, we just make up excuses not to see each other.. I think I started seeing that we were friends for different motives ( such as using together or dealing and such) I felt that these " friends" weren't ver