Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure other people do this too. Someone will complement me, or I will receive some sort of praise, and the compliments escalate into what I feel that I haven't earned.

For example, one year in school i won most of the subject awards in my grade. I only really deserved two of them for sure. I didn't have the best mark and i certainly didn't participate the most in any of the other classes. I was a good student at a bad school, so me winning that many awards isn't entirely inconceivable, but I think they were just trying to be nice and boost my confidence (the teachers thought i was depressed and socially isolated (i know for a fact), and yet did nothing that would involve themselves personally...)

Recently, i was involved in a project where i was responsible for creating two artworks. One of the people I had to show it to was overly nice about it (it wasn't finished, and it looks weird). She kept saying how amazing it was, and how “other people” said it was amazing. There was a weird tone in her voice though, she didn't seem excited, more like kind. She sounded like a mother pretending to love a bunch of crayon scribbles.

This happens all the time with teachers. They'll be complimenting me on something i can understand, and then they'll throw in a bunch of untrue compliments and the smile just freezes in my face. I've definitely had times where i was so happy because i thought someone was being sincere, and then they throw in a ridiculously untrue sentiment like “You're the best artist I've ever met”- vague, grossly overindulgent statements that really mean nothing.

How can I trust people's praise when I can't tell if they are being sincere, or just nice? I try to tell myself that it doesn't matter anyways because they thought enough of me to lie at least, but that doesn't really work.