Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A friend suggested I do open mic stand up comedy to overcome SA. This to me seems like an extreme. The idea is that making people laugh has an effect of feeling immediate acceptance from people then in turn this will diminish my SA. So i am a student of jokes right now looking for this acceptance that making people laugh is suppose to bring. Dont know but im giving it a try. Do you readily accept someone if they make you laugh?
Have a great day,
labrador

·
Registered
214 Posts
I think the confidence of the person telling the jokes also has an effect on whether or not they’ll be accepted by others. Of course they would have to find your type of humor funny in the first place, but that really depends on your audience. But overall I think doing standup comedy is a great idea. It’ll help become more comfortable telling jokes in front of people (also talking in front of people in general), and give you that confidence to go out there and be funny with people in your daily life. I know that most people do like humor, so it’s at least worth a shot.

·
Registered
10,831 Posts
I want to try acting to overcome lingering SA issues. My hope is that I can like the person I want to be.

How do stand up comedians come up with jokes? I would like to be funny.

I notice one technique is to just give an unexpected response often the reverse of what someone expects even an absurd response.

·
Registered
169 Posts
Stand-up is more about how you tell your jokes and project them rather than the actual words. Remember interaction is 80% non-verbal. Somebody standing up there who looks tense, anxious, and begging for laughs is probably not going to have nearly the same effect as someone telling the same joke who is confident, smiling, doesn't care about laughs, and telling the joke using cues such as body language and voice tone.