Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's incredibly difficult for me to speak in front of a group of people that I know (like a class or my colleagues). I shake violently, stutter, etc. However, for my entire life I have been great in front of audiences of strangers. In high school, I had no problem acting in plays, I've debated competitively for many years, and I work as a tour guide where several times a week I spend an hour and a half speaking to large groups of people. I usually have no problem being outgoing and very perky towards my tour groups, unless it seems to me that the group is not enjoying the tour, and then I usually forget what I need to be saying, stutter a bit, and repeat the phrases over and over.

Because I come across as very bubbly, a lot of people are very surprised that I have extreme social phobia. And my psychiatrist was veeery surprised to learn that I acted, debate, and give tours.

Is there anyone else similar in the sense that they spend a lot of time in front of strangers, and have no problem with it?

·
Registered
194 Posts
I'm the same way. I work as a waitress at a bar and I can go up to people and ask them if they need anything with no problem. But I can hardly handle a conversation with one of my coworkers.

·
Registered
32 Posts
I'm the same way. I work as a waitress at a bar and I can go up to people and ask them if they need anything with no problem. But I can hardly handle a conversation with one of my coworkers.
well i think when its your job you brain cuts out the scared factor and tells you you halve to do it..

when im at work i can go out and talk to any one and be all buddy buddy but when i get home i don't really care to speak to any body.. i don't know i just dont like people that much any more..

·
Registered
2,122 Posts
may be it's because you don't have to open up to strangers,