Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone.

I have recently been diagnosed with social anxiety. This was caused by bullying during my elementary and junior high school years, which was aggravated by my mild aspergers.
I also found out that it runs in the family, apparently my father had problems with it in his youth.

I got help for this condition, and got some tools for trying to cope with it. You know, breathing techniques, setting yourself aside the situation and analysing it, that sort of stuff.

But recently, it's been starting to fall apart again. I got hit with a spike of depression, you could say. I'm currently studying at the University of Bergen (Norway). The last two weeks I haven't gone to any lectures, and I'm worried about what the people I've made tentative friendships with will think if I show up now. I worry constantly about the looks they'd give me and wonder if they talk about me when I'm not there, and if they do, if it's to make fun of me.

I'm still trying to finish reports and such, but it's hard doing even that when you're in an evil circle of depression caused by social anxiety.

I am honestly almost scared to death by even the thought of mentioning this to anyone outside the 'net.

I just want this feeling to go away.

·
Registered
19 Posts
we all want this feelings to go away but we cant its a part of us that we need to ignore and control it like a beast

you need to find a hobby that will destruct you from the thought and go out

·
Registered
149 Posts