Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been thinking and what I came up with is that one of the main reasons I've been so down and depressed is because I keep trying to figure out how to "be like them." How to become the life of the party instead of "oh, that guy" and other social techniques.

But then I realized maybe the reason I'm not good at large social gatherings is just because I don't really LIKE to talk unless I truly have something to say. I'm just naturally a quiet and peaceful person (except when I mentally beat myself up) and I think 90% of small talk just gets on my nerves. Like what's your point buddy? I wish all conversations could be straight to the heart, like "Hi, I'm Jonny. I think you're an awesome person." But no, you have to have the BS in there: "Sooo, nice weather, huh?" Who gives a damn about the weather?!

Maybe I (and people like me) aren't supposed to be super-socials and have other, more important purposes that we're just not seeing right now. Maybe the whole "purpose" of us having SA is to find other people with SA so we can be like "Yeah, I get you."

I dunno.

·
thoughts are just thought
1,263 Posts
none of use are spectators in life, we are all participants.

You can talk about whatever you want to talk about with who ever you want to talk with. Someone says "how about the whether" you can tell change the subject into a debate on the meaning of life, or an in depth discussion on the other persons hopes and dreams.

If you did that you would be seen as an interesting, fascinating person. So if that's what you want to do, good for you. :clap

However if what you are REALLY doing, is that SA thing where you try to justify your quiet nature as "introspective" rather than introverted, I am going to ask you to stop right now, because I am calling everyone out on their bull **** from now on.