Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5,120 Posts
You go in, figure out what kind of sandwich you want, wait in line, tell them. They will ask you what kind of bread if you don't specify, if you want it toasted, if you want cheese (and what kind), and what else you want on it (they may ask you about each thing individually).

·
Registered
504 Posts
I'm assuming many people here have issues going into places and ordering food, like I do. My issue is not only am I scared of making a fool of myself and not knowing what to do, but also ordering food I've never tried before and ending up hating it.

I've never been to subway, but I figure I'll have to try one of these days. I have no idea what to do, but I guess I'll have to give it a shot. How do I go about getting something from there?
Try going in at a busy time so there is a queue, give you a chance to watch a few people go through the motions.

Here, you queue, then they ask what kind of bread you want, then what fillings, then what salad. Sometimes a different person does a different section, so I just wait till asked for the next bit.

Good for you for setting a goal and going for it. I can relate to the fear, but I found it went quite smoothly.

·
unstable
2,590 Posts
i think having issues with ordering food, especially subway, is a common thing for people with sa. i dn't think you should feel ashamed about it.

go in, and look for the sign that says "please order here". usually it's on the opposite side to the cash register

all the instructions for ordering are very clearly marked nowadays lol. you can get bread on white or brown, and there are 3-5 other fancier varieties iirc. and you can see what each bread looks like because they have it displayed