Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After finding a job in kindergarten and being fired from it in the first day I decided to start getting treatment about my anxiety and went to psychiatrist, got medicine 2-3 weeks ago. If I cut to the chase, I was going to job interview with the confidence of now being able to talk on the phone without being so scared (which is a really good thing), to my luck, a special education and rehabilitation center wanted to have me as teacher. The thing is my major is not special education (its normal preschool education) and it's my first time being in that kind of place. I've not been with much autistic, mentally or physically disabled kids in my life too. So I have to learn how to teach them, how to treat them so they will keep me at work. Today was my third day. I know there's a camera in the class and sometimes parents watch their kids from it. I try not to stress about it and ignore it but today I found out the manager of school was watching me all day even when kids didn't arrive and saw me preparing paper work for kids. She criticized me telling I should leave that job to assistant teachers and I should do this do that. Whole day I felt anxious thinking someone should be watching me right now and will tell me I do this wrong. All criticizing and feeling of being "not enough" takes my self confidence. Learning how to talk to people and be social + how to be a good special education teacher seems hard to me. Would you keep working in this situation or would you look for another job? Is this a harsh way to confront with anxiety? :afr

·
The Beautiful Struggle
197 Posts