Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

Does moving out to live on your own help in starting anew?

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I was in high school, I was quite a shy kid and had less than 5 friends. My mom had also frequently compared me with other kids (who were more outgoing, confident, etc) and of course that didn't help (I don't blame her as I really think she was just trying to make me do better). I woke up everyday wishing the gound would open up and swallow me down (or some natural disaster would just happen to me). I did imagine once in a while what it would feel like falling off from high ground, but I was never actually suicidal, because I am hopeful that I will come out of it one day.

Now I'm in Uni and things hasn't really changed. I'm more thick-skinned and defensive. And I don't really get invited on outings with my uni mates. I am not an idiot, so I know that i'm a pretty normal Uni student. When I was in the 1st year, my coursemates had planned a BBQ night at one of their apartments (I don't live outside because it's very expensive) and they did not invite me. What was worse, they said to keep it a secret in front of me. As far as I'm concerned, I have not offended anyone.

Now I'm in my fourth year of Uni and I do go out with them once in a while, because since then I've constantly reminded myself not to take things personally and be a little more thick-skinned. So I'm writing this today because I just found out that they're all out on another outing and I did not get invited. Again. I may be a little shy and can be socially awkwards at times, but really, is this really nescessary?