Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I graduated from university yesterday. I got some gifts and cards from my immediate family and I know them well and all so I had no anxiety opening/accepting gifts and cards. However, today my employer of 6 years, who is also a neighbor, gave me a card when I saw her at work today. She said, "Here's something from me and [her husband] that we wanted you to have. Congratulations." I said, "Thank you" and set the card down on the table, unopened. We had a casual chat about how graduation went, the usual stuff like that. I feel very anxious opening cards/gifts in front of employers. I mean, we're not friends or family, it's not like we know each other well or anything, etc. I don't want to look greedy, opening the card up in front of her. I don't know if it's appropriate to open a card in this situation. I opened it up when I got home and inside was $100! I will definitely send a written thank you card.

Can someone please tell me, did I handle the situation appropriately? I know I'm going to mull over this for days--what she thought of how I accepted the card, whether she thinks I was rude not to open it, etc. I try so hard to be appropriate in social situations, I think it through so much! If only people around me (who might perceive me as rude/stand-offish) knew how much I go through to act appropriately because I have no social skills, how desperately I wish I could act comfortably in social situations! Uggh!! Frustration!

Tell me what you think.

·
Registered
191 Posts
I think you did fine. I probably would have opened it right away, but then would have been totally mortified when I saw the money and felt totally bad about accepting it. So you definitely did the right thing! Sending a thank you card is the perfect thing to do.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Hello Terra.