Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
insert witty comment here
6,198 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I work as a private tutor. I have a new client who is in an adult education programme and really struggles with writing essays. So today I was at his house for the second time and his exam is on Monday. It was just meant to be a very short term tuition arrangement.

So today's lesson starts with him wanting to chat. That is quite normal as people want to get to know you a little if you go to their house. But he sort of suggests that we meet up for dinner some time. I ignore that b/c he is totally not my type. In the middle of the lesson he mentions that he would like to carry on with the tuition after his exam. Then, at the end as I am saying my goodbyes he tells me that he cant actually afford tuition on a long term basis but that he is a qualified massage therapist and could massage me in return for tuition. :eyes :lol I said that I was going to think about it.

There are probably people who would accept that but I wouldn't. I wouldnt accept a massage from a man who has already let me know that he is interested. I think I would only ever have someone whom I am dating or whom I am paying massage me.

Do you think he was genuine and it just didnt occur to him that it was a slightly strange proposal?
Or was he trying to make a move?

And women, would you accept something like that?

·
Done with SA
1,818 Posts
Sounds like he was either making a move or he really, really, really wanted you to keep tutoring him.

I would accept if I liked the guy, otherwise, no, I wouldn't accept and try to decline the offer nicely.

·
Registered
1,049 Posts
He's coming on to you. You said he wasn't your type so you'll have to turn him down. If you agree to the massage then you will lead him on, which is not a nice thing to do to a guy.

·
4 + 1 = MOO
1,410 Posts
Sounds like a 'Sex and the City' episode plot.

·
Registered
2,672 Posts