Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Gimme Sympathy
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a phone interview tomorrow with a job I REALLY REALLY want to get and I want to know if there are any tips/suggestions that any of you can offer.
Like a true SA-er, real interviews are tough on me, but I've never done a phone interview before and don't know what to expect (it's for a congressional office). I absolutely hate talking on the phone because I never know when the person on the other end is through talking so I always end up interrupting and half the convo ends up being both parties having to repeat themselves and the inevitable "ok, you go/no go ahead/you were saying" type comments. Plus the same feelings about being judged about what you say/how you say it that apply to regular situations come out here. How can i fix this is say, 24hrs time?

·
ಠ ¿ ಠ
913 Posts
Hmm, perhaps you'll be able to find some recorded phone interviews or some such to help you out on YouTube. Whenever I'm unsure of something, I can seemingly always find a magic video on YouTube that explains everything, as if YouTube is the answer to all of life's mysterious questions...

But yeah, I see you're in Miami. Heat sucks, idn'nit?

·
Retired Enforcer
19,113 Posts
Remember to breathe.
Put on a nice shirt. If you look good it helps with how you feel.
Take a second to think about the answers that you're giving, but don't take to long.
Smile! Believe it or not a smile does come across the phone lines.

Break a leg!
(and don't forget to breathe!)

·
Registered
10,731 Posts