Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't know why I do this to myself; but it's like I'm always trying to be a perfectionist about every little thing down to the smallest detail. For instance in school I'm majoring in biology but I have no plans to go to any professional school or graduate programs, yet I still find myself worrying about my GPA and kicking myself for getting B's! I also find myself studying for exams I'll never take like the MCAT as if I was on some strict deadline, just to see if I can know all the information. Another example, about 6 months ago I found a small tiny ding on my car (not noticeable at all) and yet it drives me crazy just knowing it's there. I'm also pretty meticulous about the desk in my room, like I have to make everything properly lined up and 'coordinated'.

For some stupid reason I also worry about my money situation, despite the fact that I have more than enough funds to meet my needs. I always have to stay above $1,500 or I start panicking. I don't have any major bills since I’m still living at home, only car insurance, gas and tech-toy expenses. Will have student loans after I graduate though...which is a whole other worry all together. :afr

This especially drives me crazy because it's really starting to affect my health, I haven't had an awesome night's sleep in over 4-5 years and occasionally I have heart palpitations. I just wish I could let go and stop putting all this unneeded pressure on myself; but it seems like if I wasn't concentrating on all this stuff I'd just be staring at a blank wall. It seems like this would be pretty common for SA'ers--just wanted to see exactly how common. :)

·
Registered
706 Posts
ssmcivicsi said: