Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So… I finally broke down and just joined an online dating site, lol. I figured it’d be easier to meet someone online and surprisingly I’ve gotten a lot of good responses. But the problem is, they all want to meet in person and I’m terrified! I’ve never met anyone from online before and I’m new to the whole dating scene in general. I’m not sure what to do. I don’t mind talking online, but when it comes to the phone or face to face I get super nervous. Any advice? It would be greatly appreciated :)

·
SAS Member
31,298 Posts
I thought eventually meeting in person is what the whole idea of an online dating site is for, lol? Maybe you could tell the person that you want to get to know them better online first before you meet them.

·
Registered
256 Posts
I've been trying the online thing. When I have to make the first phone call it usually takes me about 3hrs before I work up the courage. I just get the phone number ready and eventually face the fear and press talk.

Same thing with meeting in person. Just got to break through the fear and go with it. I just say if I crash I crash if not then awesome. You never know if you will be awkward or how well you click til you meet. I've talked to 3 on the phone and met 2 people from online before and actually had a relationship from one. So my advice is if you really like someone just go for it.

·
Registered
20 Posts
I think I agree with the general sentiment that asking to get to know someone more first is a good idea.