Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
154,233 Posts
Software Engineer

I got it through the dreaded interview process. There is usually something that goes wrong in my interview process that mean I end up with the job. It either rains, I have a cold, I feel like I am dreadfully underprepared, etc. I just went in and tried to be natural.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Right now I'm a marketing and public relations coordinator for a non-profit. I got it by going to school forever (2 grad degrees) and by getting a little experience with a friend's company the year before. I also spent 5 years teaching before that and it's an education non-profit.

Anyway, the best I can say about getting a job is trying to sell yourself according to what they want -- really focus on that job description :). But the interview process was hell. It was a group interview :D. I seriously didn't think I got the job.

Esby

·
Poorly Educated
4,912 Posts
I'm an auto mechanic. It was mostly luck I guess, I didn't have much prior experience and I was looking to learn as an apprentice instead of going to a tech school. I had known my boss for quite a few years before because my parents always had him do their repair work. One day when I was 19 I asked him if he was looking for any help. Just by luck it happened to be perfect timing as he had a guy who was leaving to take a different job and he needed someone to replace him. He said he would be willing to train me but he wanted to wait a few days and see if he could find someone with more experience. A few days went by and he called me at home and told me to come in on Monday. That was over 10 years ago and I've been working there ever since.

·
Registered
273 Posts