Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm a nursing student and I wanted to know if there are others like myself with SA? At first clinicals were a challeng but I've become more comfortable. A lot of times I feel like I short-hand my experience because of my fear and SA. I would love to here from others!!!

·
Registered
12 Posts
oh pick me :)

I am a nursing student with sa and ive have got to say that it has terrfied me from the start :\ but it has gotten heaps better with the amount of clinicals that i have and constant exposure with the patients. I think it somewhat forced me to open up which is a big plus. I still remember my first placement and i was absolutely terrfied i had to psyche myself up to go to the patients rooms just to do some bps :afr but it definetly has helped me in my confidence in being around people. Still have to conquer my fear of the doctors though :| but its a working progress :D

·
Registered
76 Posts
I'm a medical technology student so it's similar and I am worried about the phlebotomy. I didn't know this would be part of the program when I decided on MT.

·
Registered
218 Posts
i am going into practical nursing. I am looking forward to it. Oh well, think of it this way-it's not like you're performing heart surgery or brain surgery on the patients, which is really intense. I look forward to not staring at a computer 8 hours a day.

·
Registered
7,836 Posts
I'm doing a pre -nursing at the moment- had a two week work experience and found that pretty hard, loved it but didn't get the best supervisors report. I want to do intellectually disability nursing and during my placement I got on better with the servous users rather than the other nurser and care wokers....:mum

·
grateful
10 Posts
Hi :)