Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I've been a lurker on this forums for a while now but I've just hit really hard times and I just wanted some advice...

I'm not really that competent at anything academically. I always make so many mistakes in every subject I learn. I'm attending a local community college to transfer to a university but so far i feel it has not worked out and I haven't chosen a major yet. The problem is I'm not really talented at anything. I have no talents and I don't excel at anything. I'm not good at writing, math, science, music, art, or really anything. I'm short and physically unfit to take a physical career as well. I'm so terrified of the future that sometimes I wonder if it's even worth living. Thanks for taking the time to read this and any advice you can give me...

·
Registered
301 Posts
Honestly, a lot of people may not be automatically talented at something... it doesn't mean you can't learn a skill though. It sounds like you're giving up before really trying.

Maybe the thing here is a lack of a goal - maybe having no specific goal in mind is making you not care to try in your courses?

I just wanted to add that the future is overwhelming if you think so far ahead and try to answer every little thing. It doesn't really work that way though. It's natural to think of the big picture, but trying to figure out every little detail... like yeah, I can see that being freaky. Your choices now don't necessarily lock you into anything in the future, if that's what you're scared of.

So with that being said... what do you *want* to do? What goals do you want for yourself? You should figure out what you're interested in, not what you're "talented" in... because if you like something enough, you'll have enough passion and drive to work on it.