Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
(note to self: stop with the smiths references)

I'm nineteen and I have no job experience, no volenteer experience, no experience except highschool really (and no involvements in that in the past two years). I am scared just to make a resume because I have nothing to put on it! I am terrified of the idea of fastfood or any retail = people. What is a good first job for someone who is scared of people? I really especially scared of applying to jobs, and I have no friends who would be there to support me (my pride eats away at my common sense, I just can't approach friends for help). I always forget my address or phonenumber or SIN when it comes time to write it down. It's dreadful. I can't even write positive things about myself - like my good qualities, I would have to have somebody else tell me what they are. And since I don't have experience I have no references. Who on earth would hire me? And once someone did, how on earth would I cope? I neeed to do something though, I need to keep busy and get out of my house more and everything and be on the go. But I am so used to being so still.

My main concern though, is what kind of jobs should I be applying for? What kind of jobs are out there where I can be behind the scenes that won't provoke my anxiety?

:afr

·
Registered
89 Posts
I really cant think of too many jobs that someone with sa would want to do but i know someone who said they were probaly gonna clean hotels or general cleaning, just and idea.

·
Registered
36 Posts
My first job was as a cashier at a small grocery store. Yeah, you have to see lots of people, but the cashier is not expected to make small talk with the customer. You say "hi" when they get to you, ring them out, bag their groceries, say "thank you" when you had them their receipt, and you're done.