Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! This is my first time visiting this site and I think this is exactly what I needed. I have dealt with social anxiety probably in some form for most of my life. It really began to become an issue for me during my junior year of high school. I began to drift away from the small group of friends I had and came to the realization it was incredibly difficult for me to make new friends. It has been about three years now and I have yet to be able to "get out there" and make new relationships with others. Everytime I am put in a social situation like family parties or being with groups of people my age I become extremely self conscience and nervous. I almost become numb and have a hard time even speaking one word. I am constantly worrying and filled with anxiety. I have experienced panic attacks at school and public places, like the mall. The hardest thing for me to do is give presentations or read out loud at school. Once I begin, I sound like I am about to cry and feel like I can't breath. My vision becomes blurry and my face feels like it is on fire. My social anxiety disorder has begun to rule my life and I have decided to fight and win it back. I have recently started a new program which aids in attacking anxiety and depression. Some things I have begun to do is spend time meditating, more time exercising, and journaling. I feel that it is starting to work, but I know I have a while to go before I am cured. I would love to hear from people who have similar issues and may have more suggestions as to things that would help. I have done much research on this topic and would also love to be a help to anyone else who needs it.

·
Banned
177,223 Posts
Hey c621 welcome. :)

·
Protector of the Den
15,048 Posts