Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I am new to this so I decided I would say hello. I am looking for support from people who understand me. It is awful feeling all alone. I pretty much just self diagnosed myself with SAD today after doing research. I am just tried of feeling this way.

I am 29 (today is my bday) and over the past 2 years have felt more and more anxious in social situations- especially at work. I am an oncology nurse. I love taking care of others but lately have felt on stage all the time especially around my co-workers. I get embarrassed all the time! My face turns bright red and I feel so stupid. The more it happens the more anxiety I feel. So today everyone was wishing me a happy bday which of course made me feel the center of attention and embarrassed. Does anyone else get embarrassed on their bday? Something is wrong with me!

Also I am pregnant- which only leads to more attention which I HATE. Everyone wants to ask me questions and touch my belly (which I can't stand!!!!) Don't they understand that makes me uncomfortable?!?

Ok so I guess I am pretty much just venting to whoever is out there. I have cried most of the day (which is totally not like me) but today has been awful. I just feel stupid and like a freakin idiot.

Who knows what I can do to help me cope. I have looked into getting some self help books- what are good ones?

·
planning relocation
714 Posts
Sorry to hear about your bad day. Cant recommend any books because i havent read any but can offer some insight. People who dont suffer from anxiety are pretty much retards when it comes to seeing it and dealing with it, they dont relize the more attention they pay,that they are actually making it worse. The best help you can get is from those who have it as well

·
Banned
177,223 Posts
Hey jeangirl, welcome and Happy B-Day! :yay

·
Registered
60 Posts