Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! This is my first post here.. I just need to talk to someone who gets it.

I haven't worked outside the home in 3+ years.
I have severe social anxiety and panic disorder w/agorophobic tendencies.
I also have cyclical depression (but not bipolar) and general anxiety.

I have been on disability for the last couple of years, but I am yearning to do more.

I am 31, I have a college degree, I believe I have much to offer the world, if I could just get out of my own way! If I could just stop being so afraid all the time!

Every time I see a job advertised that sounds interesting to me, I get an application, I fill it out, then I freak out and forget the whole thing.

I am terrified of having to interact with people (though I fake it quite well - most people who know me would have no idea), I am scared that my panic disorder will interfere with me being able to hold a job, I'm scared about not doing well at a job, about people talking about me or hating me.. just fear of failing basically.

I also feel embarassed just APPLYING for the job. My resume.. well.. it sucks.
I have had 8 jobs in the last 10 years, most of them lasting anywhere from 3-6 months. My longest job was 1.5 years, but that was 6 years ago. My resume shows a LOT of gaps between employment and a lot of short-term employment. I always quit before I could get fired. I just never felt competent, no matter what the job was. I have worked as a cashier, as a teacher's assistant, as a mental health worker, a case manager.. different kinds of jobs, ranging from only needing a GED or diploma to needing a college degree, and all of them have overwhelmed me so greatly that I would freak out and quit.

I so want to have a "normal" life. I want to have a place to go every day, where I know people, and fulfill a need for someone. Can someone with severe SA really hope for that or is that a pipe dream?