Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I have read some major doctors books and 4 of them were CBT books.

I have a question about negative thoughts though:

Famous Richard Carlson says to recognize when a negative thought comes up, and to treat it like this a negative thought that it is going to pass by.

CBT books on the other hand say that I have to write down the negative thought, challenge it and replace it with a rational thought.

Well what do you think is the best approach: ignoring the negative thought or write it down, analyze it, challenge it and replace it?

Also in CBT, do I have to write everything down? Why I cannot do it orally, since I have very good memory.

Thanks

·
Registered
1 Posts
im new to this whole social anxiety thing, ive had this problem for a couple years now and just realized that i have SA...so im not an expert when i say this, but i think that you should practice both depending on how important each situation is. both techniques could be useful in their own way.

me personally i would like to ignore it, because when you write down that negative thought you are dwelling on it and thinking about it more than you should...so it could worsen our problems. where as if you ignore it, you dont think about it anymore and try to think of positive/funny things to say.

but i believe there are some good things to the other approach as well. by writing down your neg thought and replacing it with a pos thought teaches your brain how to generate good thoughts instead of bad ones.

just my thoughts...

·
Registered
32 Posts
For me ignoring the negative thought does not work. It will simply return again. Negative thoughts are irrational and need be replaced by rational thoughts which are in fact more truthful and positive, and more powerful than the negative thoughts.

·
Banned
501 Posts
Hello, I have read some major doctors books and 4 of them were CBT books.