Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Harvestor Of Sorrow
5,727 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I was wondering if you could help me out. I have a pc that is running windows xp professional. Anyway, I need a free anti-virus program with a built in firewall. I tried AVG, and it's been good so far, but they will only let me have it free for a month. Any suggestions. Thanks guys.

·
Registered
2,855 Posts
Avast. I've been using it religiously for the past 4 years and it's been great. From previous threads in this subforum, a lot of others agree with me. Only things I suggest doing with the newest version of Avast is turning off the AutoSandbox Protection under the "Additional Shields" tab, as I find it gets quite annoying at times, and turning off the sounds (if it bothers you).

http://www.avast.com/free-antivirus-download

·
Optimism Prime~
7,122 Posts
Avast. I've been using it religiously for the past 4 years and it's been great. From previous threads in this subforum, a lot of others agree with me. Only things I suggest doing with the newest version of Avast is turning off the AutoSandbox Protection under the "Additional Shields" tab, as I find it gets quite annoying at times, and turning off the sounds (if it bothers you).

This post for the win :D

·
Custom User Title
4,231 Posts
AVG?

·
Registered
67 Posts
AV Comparatives does independent testing of the major AntiVirus Products. (Apparently so does http://www.av-test.org)

rockyraccoon said:
I tried AVG, and it's been good so far, but they will only let me have it free for a month.
You can download the free version of AVG from http://free.avg.com.

I have been recommending MSE to people lately. It's easily available and installed and totally free. The only issue is that it didn't perform that well on the retrospective tests.

·
Registered
3,878 Posts
Aye, go AVG. I've used free AVG form any years and I've only had one malware blip which was my fault for not recognising it.

·