Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm Erica. This is my first time here, second post.

Today I was put into a position where I couldn't tell if I was acting paranoid and crazy, or if my feelings were justified. I need some feedback on this. I thought about calling the local crisis line, but even though phone calls have gotten a lot easier for me the past few months, I feel anxious making private calls like that when I'm at home when voices carry so well.

For some time now I've been living with my parents. I graduated university in 2012, moved back home, and languished until my depression hit it's new all-time low last summer. Since then I've been in treatment for depression, general anxiety, and social anxiety (the worst of my anxiety). Things have gotten so much better for me, but some days, like today, are still really hard.

My older sister moved back in with us last fall. She's recently been dating a guy, we'll call him K, and the truth is I don't like him. He has boisterous personality and has often poked fun at me when he's been here. His jokes are usually inappropriate and sometimes ridiculing.

I've always had trouble understanding social etiquette and how to act around other people. I'm not used to being around people outside of my family, even despite my tenure away at university. That has had an effect on my expectations of others and how I act around them (but that's another story). Regardless, I'm used to being able to act and live a certain way when I'm at home.

That's not the case when K has stayed over here. I have felt anxious and unsafe, and I have trouble conveying that to my family. It's not that he seems dangerous, necessarily, just that his presence is unnerving for me. The first few times he stayed overnight, I've stayed up late with panic attacks. My mother tells me I've been overreacting. I know you'll understand me when I say it felt very much out of my control.