Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I met my best friend last year when I was a freshman in college, and now I am a sophomore. We've been friends for a little over a year, but our friendship has been one where it is like we've known each other for much longer. We have been very close, and have supported each other through many things. I don't think I have ever felt closer to someone or more comfortable with a friend. I have been a person, one of the main people that she has gone to to talk about things and problems, and she has been that to me. We have almost a "sister" type of relationship. She's a year older than me and the way we get along or act towards each other is almost like that of an older/younger sister.

We currently live together with two other girls in a dorm style suite, and things were fine over the past months. We would see each other everyday, and not always talk a lot or hang out, but a lot of times we would, sometimes other friends would come to our room. We both have our separate class schedules and other things to do so it's not like we spend time together 24/7. Often, I would sit at the kitchen table, and she'd come out to join me. I sometimes would join her at the kitchen table if she was sitting there, but I tried to avoid it to give her space. Sometimes we would talk a lot about our day or things that happened. Sometimes we would just sit silently on our computers. I felt like it was mostly her initiating though to sit and talk with me because when she would get back from class I figured she might want to relax or something and not always talk to me. Ever since we started living together, I would always keep some distance and try not to be annoying or a bother especially if she was in her room. However, she had always been comfortable with me as well and would have no problem coming into my room to say something or ask something.