Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello internet...I'm new to this site, and just wanted to vent. I'd also like some advice, I guess.

I'm 20 years old. I'm turning 21 sometime next month. I got fired from my 2nd job on Friday, February 28...but it wasn't my fault, it was my boyfriend's doing.
From June-December 31, I was a Shuttle driver. Then I had to step down due to anxiety.
This is important: In December, right after Christmas, I got sick. When I get sick, I'm sick for a long time. I missed 3 days in a row and my boss wasn't happy. I was throwing up constantly, couldn't breathe, had a fever, and couldn't stop shaking. I'm pretty sure it was just the flu, but my job was to drive (a lot of) people home or to work. You can't do that when you're puking constantly. When I came back to work, my boss sat me down and told me I can't be missing work like this. I just stayed quiet unless he asked me a direct question, then I would only half-answer it. That Monday, I didn't want to go to work because I was still throwing up, and the thought of going back to work made it worse, so needless to say, I was pissed when I was there. I told him I could no longer shuttle drive people, as it was making my stress and anxiety levels so high. I would be driving to work after dropping someone off, and then I'd get 4 phone calls from other coworkers that I needed to give 10 more people rides when I came back, and then I'd have a full-on panic attack, and have to park somewhere until I calmed down...I was encouraged to speed, talk on my cell phone while driving, and I had to deal with horrible customers on a daily basis. I was supposed to answer the phone, too, but my social anxiety prevented me from doing that. I would try to answer the phone, but I'd hang up just as soon as it rang...
Then comes Friday.