Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Banned
4,666 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please don't start a fight in this thread or insult, this is a serious question and I expect you to be respectful and not make this rude just because it's Gwynevere making the thread.

To what extent is it normal for men to touch women they don't know? Most men who talk to me in public don't touch me but I'm also very obvious about the fact that I hate them, and I don't usually pay attention to what other people do in public.

But recently I've noticed quite a few incidents where men put their hands on women they clearly didn't know. I'm not very good at body language and didn't really stick around or stare long enough to know how it turned out or how the women felt about it except one who looked just as uncomfortable as I would have been.

Is this a common thing? Do strange men touch women they just met? Is this something normal that I should be concerned will probably happen?

·
today's a beautiful day
2,217 Posts
noooo... it is not normal that men touch women strangers... at least what i see here... and in my life so far...
i think u shouldn't be afraid of this happenin to u... maybe if u go to some party with lots of drunk ppl.. then maybe

·
Registered
2,492 Posts
I certainly find public touching of anybody you aren't very familiar with to be quite bizarre, but then again, I'm certainly not the best judge of what is "normal".

Though I do seem to recall it being a big tenet of the "game", touching a woman to indirectly express interest/show confidence/eliminate the friendzone or something like that.

·
Registered
5,994 Posts
No it's far more common for strange women to touch men they just met and frankly it's a bit creepy.

·
Let the siege, commence!
1,333 Posts
I can't say I've ever seen this. Most men know that touching a woman they don't know well in any way is absolutely forbidden.

·
Registered
3,699 Posts