Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is a lot longer than I intended it to be but please read it.
I am currently a Sophomore in college and I am having a hard time making friends. I feel like most people make their friends from their hallway freshmen year. A lot of people make friends in pairs with their roommates. Even if two roommates don’t end up being friends in the long run, I noticed that at the beginning of Freshmen year, people go around meeting their hall mates and then hanging out with them together in these pairs. This takes a lot of the pressure off of making new friends and also makes things less awkward. After getting more comfortable with the people in their hall, people sometimes break away from their roommates and sometimes they don’t. Last year I got unlucky and roomed with a girl who wasn't interested in meeting new people. She wouldn't even let me leave our door open. It is very difficult for someone like me who is shy, socially awkward, and lacking self confidence to make friends alone. I feel like everyone in my hall clicked off very quickly and before I knew it, I was alone. I had a very hard time adjusting to college and I spent most of last year feeling depressed. Being shy and depressed is the recipe to not make friends.