Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hate this part of myself. I suffer from always setting my mind on doing something only to have the pangs of anxiety get worse and worse as the event comes closer till I seek out every opportunity to either avoid the situation or cancel it. I'm a college student, and my grades have suffered because of this. I almost want to register at the Wellness office so at least i could talk to someone personally about what's been going on but i'm afraid.

Lately i have been taking volunteer jobs and it pains to that every time i get sensitive about a certain job where i perceive i'm going to be the only new person there i flip out and worry over it. Like just moments ago I canceled this volunteer job I planned to do for tomorrow. i feel incredibly stupid--like i've let myself down in more ways than one. It's like once my anxiety builds and builds i cant calm myself down and the only thing that soothes me is to cancel the whole thing. When I have made myself go through the commitment in the past despite the high anxiety, i feel like i'm physically dying in the process. My whole body feels on edge and i even shake and tremble a little. By the time i come down from the high, my heart is pounding and my back is covered in perspiration like i just escaped near death at the hands of a murder or something. any advice??

·
Registered
530 Posts
I'm on the same boat...

I think the worst one for me in recent memory was talking myself into trying out for a waiter job, only to decline the job offer. I've learned from that experience, that I should think about how much I really want a certain job and what my goals are.