Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Banned
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wrote down I'm a college student on break, put two courses I never took.

I'm applying into retail, and mostly just minimum wage jobs. How often do they check? I'm not worried about a few of them asking about my education. But how often do they actually check?

Also I'm 21, I can pull the student thing. I'm actually a highschool dropout.

·
Banned
438 Posts
I know a guy that hires people and he mostly checks for criminal background and drug tests. And there are places where they don't even check that because they need to shell out 50 dollars for the background check and more for the drug test each.

I lie on little things like that myself. Not too much though.

·
Registered
2,491 Posts
Not a good idea and just ethically wrong.

Most retail places do not require a college education anyway, so trying to impress them with a faux resume is probably pointless. They're just looking for motivated individuals willing to learn and work the required hours.

Most likely, retail companies will not check your credentials if you're just applying for a minimum wage position, but why start lying?

It might be a "LOL" matter for you (as in your title), but if I was your boss I'd fire you for lying to me LOL.

·
Registered
2,347 Posts
I'm all for it, stick it to the man... they are c$%^s to most everyone so why not. If they expect you to jump threw hoops while clapping like a seal then why not stick it to them in return. I always make the mistake of not biting my tongue when I quit ..it does feel good to tell a boss what you think, even if they already know. I'd love to quit and say "oh by the way my resume was 90% BS so suck it!". Oh wow just thinking it feels good! Now I want a job so I can quit to say that! xP