Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Banned
575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm not really used to that whole introduce yourself thing but I'll try to do it right.

I'm a 27 ( in 4 days) guy from a small village, close to a small city, in Canada!

I have been dealing with anxiety for I don't know how long but I got to know what this word means about 4 years ago.

My biggest concerns are mild panics (feeling the anxiety rise) especially in social situations (getting to meet new people, being one on one in an office or being the center of attention.).
The first time I experienced a panic, occurring during a presentation (round table presentation at the college, it was like 4 months ago. I went like a month and a half without experiencing any panic feelings but it happened a 2nd time and now, I fear a panic which means, I am scared of being scared!
I have been meeting with a therapist (psychologist) for the last 2 years, at least, and we see each other bi-weekly, although more frequently in the first year! I also get to meet some social workers and I live in a supervised apartment with a case manager coming in once in a while, despite not being much of a case.

I have been isolating a lot in my last years of pot smoking, after nearly 10 years of daily smoking. Now. I can only tolerate hashish but it causes me other problems is I try to abstain from it all.
I overcame a lot in the last couple of years.

My diagnosis is Anxiety/Social anxiety/a bit of depression/OCD/avoidant personality

After spending all of 2012 not working, trying to get my life back on track after about 7/8 years of working 45 hours a week of shift work in a sawmill and it not being my field at all, I have quit, worked on myself, went on an employability program in 2013 and now I have been in college, in the social field (Intervening in the social field - Human services (real English name)

By the way, my first language is French!