Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Banned
3,551 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi i'm new here,

had social anxiety pretty much all my life,since I left school I've tried various jobs and types of job but have never found anything I could do with my condition without feelings of panic and constant anxiety.I currently live at home with my father and have done for about 12 years now and at the moment I am claiming esa.

I think I should be moving out, infact I have been saying I should for nearly 10 years now, but I've never been able to hold down a job for long enough.I think i'm not helping myself by living with my father, he is a very difficult person to live with, he is always angry and moody, i can't spend too long around him,as we don't get on. we are polite to each other but thats all. we pretty much live in different parts of the house and always have done. i have difficulty being around anyone too long but it seems like things are worse being around my father.my mother doesn't want me to live with her she is not interested in me or my problems. so I think to help myself more perhaps I should be moving out?

I'm not sure if things will be any better for my anxiety if I move out though, what if I have to house share? some people might not understand me if I lock myself away from them.I can barely cope living in a large house with one other person what if I have to share a small area with more people? i'd go to pieces as thats what happens often in social situations.the difference being if i'm in a social situation and anxiety gets to much I can atleast leave and go home but if i'm in a claustrophobic living space then i'll have no where to go.

can I get a place where its just me living on my own? i'm not too bothered about size just as long as i'm not too close to other people.