Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm still living with my parents, and 2 younger siblings. I'm 29 so it's kind of humiliating, especially when someone asks me where I live. I really hope to leave home this year. I'll need to get a job (I'm a grad student... sorta...) and I'm working on it.
When I finally do leave home though, I'm certain it won't be to live with roommates. I don't have anyone close I could move in with and I'm sure as hell not gonna live with a stranger. The way I know myself if I lived with a stranger I would end up barricading in my room, leaving it just for food/bathroom. No, home has to be the one place I'm really comfortable at and this means no roommates. This means I'll be living alone, probably for quite some time. Just me and the 4 walls. I've never done that and I'd like to hear from people who have been living on their own for a while now (a year or more) how you are coping with that, does the loneliness get to you or do you find ways to enjoy your freedom.
I'm kinda worried about that so let me know how you are doing.

·
Registered
10,466 Posts
I have been living on my own since was 25 when I relocated to a different state. Sometime it gets lonely, but I try to keep myself busy. Also, I work in the social services so I am pretty wore out from being around people all week. 9 years ago this coming fall I bought my own house. It is a two story house with 3 bedrooms so it is kind of big for one person, but it had extensive work done on it and I got a good price for it. Keeping this big house clean keeps me busy. I do talk with my parent's on the weekend. They only live 30 minutes away. It is nice living by myself because if I want to sleep in I will, blast the stereo, etc. without other people yelling at me.

·
📝📸🎬💾🎲&#991
6,575 Posts
Living alone is great. It's lonely at first but you get used to it.

·
Registered
2,673 Posts