Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't think i necessarily have bad "social" anxiety, but anxiety about life in general, I definitely do. I'm an EMT and at first I didn't think I was going to make it. I was scared to go to work, and i worked at a friggen transport company. We only took 911 calls every once and awhile.

My first 911 call though, i freaked out at first when my partner ran out to get me. But 5 minutes later, the adrenaline rush took over.

The last one I went on I was already driving, and I had never driven on a 911 before. Plus my partner was new, and it was maybe his second day by himself. So I was the senior EMT. Nothing went wrong though, I panicked for maybe a second and then just went. And it was awesome.

And I'm going to paramedic school next month. Yeah, it scares the **** out of me. I think every day "Should a person like me even be in this field?" but when i actually do my job, I can't think of doing anything else.

·
Banned
8,934 Posts
I'm newly licensed EMT and also starting medic school on 7/8.

I haven't gotten an EMT job yet, but I did take on double the clinical shifts required to best help me assess fit with the career.

While I had difficulty making small talk with the crew and with the firepeople at the station houses, I found myself very talkative and compassionate during actual patient care. Much more so than the medics who may have been more jaded over time.

I hope I continue to retain the desire to connect with the patients instead of simply moving the meat around.

Good luck on medic school!

·
Registered
16 Posts
This website seems to have a disproportionately high EMS population. :)