Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
has anyone participated in any extracurricular activities that have helped your shyness?
Have you had any jobs that forced you to talk to people and that really helped you overcome some of your anxiety?

I took improv class and I feel that helped a LITTLE. I took a program at one place and then i started another program but i again felt shy and out of place and alone. I wasn't very good at improv, needless to say.

I also just started a job and it requires a lot of client interaction on the phone. I am HOPING this will help. I plan to go to law school next year and I want to "improve" myself before then.

Anybody have any good ideas for activities or jobs that help with shyness?

·
Registered
433 Posts
I worked as a receptionist at a spa/salon over the summer. It was frightening at first to answer customer calls, but I got used to it. I didn't enjoy it a whole lot, but I got a little used to talking to strangers.

·
Banned
196 Posts
My job has been a major help in overcoming SAD. I basically drive around picking up mail/parcels from businesses, something like a courier. It's made me much more confident in just striking up conversations with people, although it was really hard at first. It's good because if you don't want to talk, you can just say hello, get the stuff and leave, but over time people get used to you being there and start talking to you more. Plus I get to see a lot of people, so if I have an awkward/bad experience with someone, there's bound to be a nice person further along to bounce back with.

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·