Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1,367 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A few years ago I started trying to teach myself web design but stopped after learning a little html, dreamweaver 4 and a little bit of photoshop 6. Like I said it was a few years ago.

I graduated over the summer with a degree in English and the only thing I seem qualified to do is to be an editor. When I look at publishing companies for editorial jobs, I also see a lot of desktop publishing and graphic design jobs.

Now here's the twist. Eventually I would like to go to grad school and get a degree in public history or maybe even art history and work at a museum as an archivist or a curator. You have to go to grad school to get those jobs and I didn't have the grades to get in right away nor do I have the money. I would like to get some work experience as well as volunteer with the san diego historical society as a research assistant and get some writings published either through sabr (society for american baseball research) or through another historical publishing venue.

In the meantime though I need a job. Theoretically I could make money doing freelance writing but then I would have to think about being able to get health insurance and other things one doesn't have to think about at a regular steady job. When factoring in my dad who keeps urging me to work for a big company it gets even more complicated. My dad would not want me to have freelance writing be my primary source of income. I told him about the volunteer opportunity at the San Diego historical society and the first thing he said was "Can you make any money at this?" :mum He completely disregarded the fact that this would be a nice thing to put on my resume when I finally apply for an archivist job, the thing I really want to do eventually.