Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone ever been to one? There is one this Friday at the university I graduated from and I'm debating on whether to go or not. There has been two job fairs I could have gone to before after my graduation, but I never had the courage to go. I just don't know what to say or do if I go. I hate going up to people I don't know and then having to "sell" myself in less than 5 minutes. I've researched most of the companies that are going to be there and it doesn't look like there's much I qualify for. I've been unemployed for almost 6 months now so I feel like this is my last resort.

·
Registered
43 Posts
I have been to university job fairs in the past with mixed results.
They always made me very nervous as well. I do think job fairs are a better venue for extroverts to find a job.

That said, I think it is worth going. Even if you don't speak with anyone you can size up the job market and confirm your like/dislike of certain companies and positions. That is progress even if you don't walk away with a job or interview (The possibility of finding a job exists too)

At the minimum you'll probably wind up with some company embossed pens and stationary....

·
Big Boo's Haunt
3,975 Posts
They're good if you're not anxious about taking free stuff. Other than that they seem pretty pointless.

·
Registered
113 Posts
I've been to two. Not easy from an anxiety standpoint, because it's usually crowded and some of the recruiters are aggressive (on my second time, one of them started talking to me in the stairs leading up to the room where the fair was... then made me follow him to their booth to demonstrate their product...).